Worlds Score Sheet Q and A

Final Worlds Score Sheet Webinar
Please register for Final Worlds Score Sheet Webinar on Apr 15, 2014 8:00 PM CDT at:
Click Here
This is a webinar for the Worlds Judges. However, any coach can join in and listen.

2015-2017 Rules & Policy Change Form

2015-2017 Rules & Policy Change Form

Click Here to submit a suggested rule or policy change regarding the Age Grid or the Safety Rules and Guidelines. You must be a member of the USASF to submit a suggestion. These submissions must be made by May 1st 2014.

Pendulums

Pendulum restrictions were removed from the 2013-14 rules, making many more pendulum style transitions legal than in the past. You still need to be conscious of landing inverted and passing through an illegal stunt (such as passing above a prep level 2 leg stunt in Level 1 or passing above prep level as a 1 leg stunt in Level 2), but there is no longer a required number of catchers or the overthrow catcher.

Jump Skills to Tumbling

In Level 2, jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed and in Level 4 jump skills are not allowed in immediate combination with a standing flip. Non skilled jumps, such as a T-Jump, in combination with a tumbling skill do not break this rule, making the triple toe touch, t-jump, back handspring in the video legal in Level 2 and replacing the back handspring with a back tuck legal in Level 4. If you aren’t sure whether or not a jump would be considered a skilled jump, don’t do it.

Dismounts & Log Rolls

There is some misunderstanding about what is considered a dismount versus a transition. Per the rules:

Movements are only considered “Dismounts” if released to a cradle or released and assisted to the performing surface.

The first thing required of a dismount is the top person must be “Released” from everyone on the ground. If top person remains in contact with a base or the back, the skill is not a dismount. The second part is the top must land in a cradle or on the floor. Landing prone automatically makes the skill a transition, not a dismount.

Log rolls must also follow Dismounts A & B, which basically say if a log roll is thrown by 1 person it must be caught by 2, and if thrown by 2 or more people it must be caught by 3. The problems we see with this occur when a single based stunt, a prep level liberty for example, is legally cradled and caught by 2 people then immediately goes into a log roll that is caught by the same 2 people. The liberty and log roll are considered separate stunts. Catching the liberty cradle with 2 people is legal because it was a single based stunt, but those 2 people throwing the log roll make the log roll a multi-based stunt, requiring 3 catchers.

Over/Under Rules

The moving over, under, or through a stunt, pyramid, individual, or prop rules, collectively referred to as the “Over/Under” rules, are only applicable when passing over or under a torso. They do not apply to only passing over arms or legs. This means you can punch front over a leg without violating this rule. The tumbling restrictions regarding Over/Under are the same for all levels, including Level 6, stating:

Tumbling over, under, or through a stunt, individual, or prop, is not allowed.

The stunt and pyramid restrictions differ by level, and don’t exist for Level 5.

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. – Levels 1-3

No stunt or pyramid may move over or under another separate stunt or pyramid. – Level 4

Levels 1-3 can’t move Over/Under anything separate, but Level 4 can move Over/Under a separate individual. Please note use of the word “Separate” in the rules above because that is what makes some skills, leap frogs being an example, possible. A leap frog stunt passes over a torso, but since the top person is connected to the person they pass over, it’s not a separate stunt or individual so the rule doesn’t apply. The same concept applies to leap frog pyramids in higher levels.

Legal L4 Pancake Example

Here is an example of a LEGAL Pancake in Level 4. Although the transition passes above prep level, it starts as a 2 leg, prep level stunt and a base maintains contact with both legs throughout the transition. In addition, the top person rotates through inverted enough to finish in a non-inverted position.

Safety Judges are instructed to look at the base’s arms to determine if the skill is legal.
LEGAL – Continuous motion of the base’s arms is legal.
ILLEGAL – Stalling above the head makes this a downward inversion from extended level and a level 5 skill.

If the safety judge was to only watch the top person, most of these skills would appear illegal.

Video courtesy of Champion Allstars

Early Releases in Pyramids & Stunts

The most frequent violations so far this season have been related to early releases during pyramid release moves. When we refer to “Early Releases” we are saying the bracer and top person are not maintaining contact with each other. This year that requirement was made more strict and more objective than it was last season. It now says:

Clarification: Contact must be made with a base on the performing surface BEFORE contact with the bracer(s) is lost.

Stated another way this means the top person must be in contact with the required bracer(s) or someone on the ground at all times. (Exceptions to this must follow Stunt Release Move, Dismounts, or Toss rules). This applies to all pyramid release moves from Level 3 and up. It also applies to pyramid release moves with and without inversions.

For stunts we often see early releases during leap frog transitions in Level 2 and suspended forward rolls in Level 3. The early releases are due to the person initially holding the hands of the top person letting go early so they can catch the top’s seat or under the top’s arms, as they would in a standard cradle. If the top person is released during a leap frog in Level 2, the transition becomes a release move and illegal. If the top is released during a suspended forward roll in Level 3, the transition becomes a free flip and illegal.

TEST YOUR RULES KNOWLEDGE 12/18 Poll 4

This video is illegal for Sr5 Restricted because braced flips are NOT ALLOWED to twist. The braced flip in this video has a 1/2 twist.

492 people chose “Legal”
239 people chose “Illegal” (the correct answer)
13 people chose “Legal for left handed cheerleaders only.”