Category Archives: Clarifications

Clarification – Flip to Cradle

The correct answer to the Flip to Cradle quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 6. Toe (and leg) pitch flips are specifically banned in a clarification to Stunts D, stating “Toe pitch, leg pitch and similar types of tosses are not allowed in initiating free flipping skills.” The USASF definition of Toe/Leg Pitch is:

A single or multi-based stunt in which the base(s) toss upward traditionally using a single foot or leg of the top person to increase the top person’s height.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Arabesque to Cradle Position

The correct answer to the Arabesque to Cradle Position quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 2. As performed in the video, the back under one foot of the top person while the top is above his head. This makes the skill an extended single let stunt, which is not allowed in Level 2 (Stunts B1).

The video below, with the back on both ankles of the top person instead of being under the top person’s foot, is a version that is Legal in Level 2.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Shoulder Sit Back Walkover

The correct answer to the Shoulder Sit Back Walkover quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. The back walkover transition from a stunt to the performing surface is a downward inversion. The downward inversion starting in a shoulder sit, which is defined as being a prep level stunt, is not allowed in Level 3. In Level 3, “downward inversions are only allowed at waist level…” per Stunts J3.

A shoulder sit being defined as a prep level stunt negates the argument that the base of the shoulder sit having her hands around waist level and under the feet of the top makes the stunt a waist level stunt.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Log Roll to Flat Back

The correct answer to the Log Roll to Flat Back quiz is the skill is first legal in Youth 5. As performed the skill in the video is both a full twisting log roll and a quarter turning helicopter, and the first level allowing a twisting helicopter is Youth 5.

Below is a version that is legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Kick Full from Prep

The correct answer to the Kick Full from Prep quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. With the skill not being fully released from the bases it does not meet the definition of a dismount, making it a stunt transition. The maximum amount of twisting for a stunt in Level 3 is 1 twisting rotation (Stunts C1) and the amount of twisting in the video exceeds that limit.

Below is an example of a Kick Full from Prep that is Legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L2 Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Tumbling quiz is the tumbling pass is Legal in Level 2. The video is a running tumbling pass which allows a handspring series. The back extension roll does not change the pass into a standing tumbling pass.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L4 Prep Liberty to Pancake

The correct answer to the L4 Prep Liberty to Pancake quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 4 as performed. The skill is a downward inversion passing above prep level, which is not allowed per Stunts J2, Clarification 1. The exception

“Exception: Two leg “Pancake” stunts must start at shoulder level or below and are allowed to immediately pass through the extended position during the skill.”

does not apply because the skill is not a two leg stunt for the entire transition. Specifically the skill is not a two leg stunt at initiation, which is the bottom of the dip, instead it becomes a two leg stunt during the transition. The glossary definition of Pancake is

A downward inversion stunt in which both of the top person’s legs/feet remain in the grip of a base(s) while performing a fold over/pike forward rotation to be caught on the top person’s back.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Prep Release to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep Release to Prone quiz is the skill is Not Legal at any level as performed. Although the likely intent is to land prone, the top person goes inverted. This makes the skill in the video a release move landing inverted, which isn’t allowed at any level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Roll

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Roll quiz is first Legal in Level 3. In Level 2 log rolls must start and end in cradle position, which the skill in the video does not. In Level 3, generally release moves may not twist, but there is an exception stating:

Log/barrel rolls may twist up to one rotation and must land in a cradle, or flat and horizontal, body position

The skill in the video meets this exception, making it Legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Leap Frog

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Leap Frog quiz is the skill is first Legal in Level 4 as performed in the video. During the leap frog the top person goes inverted. In Level 2 inversions may only be performed going from ground level to a non-inverted position. In Level 3 inversions are restricted to shoulder level, unless meeting the criteria for a suspended roll. In Level 4 inversions are allowed up to extended level.

The half twisting leap frog in the video below, without the top person going inverted during the transition, would be allowed in Level 2.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.