Category Archives: Level 1

Clarification – Prep to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep to Prone quiz is the skill is first Legal in Level 4. As performed the top person goes inverted, not just stopping at prone, making the skill a downward inversion. Downward inversions from prep level are first allowed in Level 4, making the correct answer Level 4.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L1 Prep Level Liberty

The correct answer to the L1 Prep Level Liberty quiz is the skill is Legal in Level 1. All 4 required roles, Top, Base, Spotter, and Bracer, are filled by different people. The Top is in red and being supported off the performing surface. The Base is in blue, supporting the top person under the foot. The Spotter is in black, in a position to protect the top person’s head and neck. The Bracer is in purple, connected to the top person’s arm. If these 4 roles are filled by different athletes ta prep level liberty can be legally performed in Level 1.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L1 Tick Tock with Back

The correct answer to the L1 Tick Tock with Back quiz is the sequence is Illegal in Level 1. During the transition from arabesque to liberty the lowest point of contact between the top and a base is above the base’s shoulder level. This meets the definition of Prep Level, making the sequence illegal for having a prep level stunt without a spotter.

The original base that start on all 4s and changes to being on a knee cannot be considered the spotter because she is not standing as required by the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Over/Under Stunt

The correct answer to the Over/Under Stunt quiz is No, the stunt doesn’t break the over/under rule. Although the video shows torsos passing over and under each other, they are both part of the same stunt so it’s not a stunt, pyramid, or individual moving over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual, emphasis on separate.

Stunt Over/Under Rule:

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. Clarification: This pertains to an athlete’s torso moving over or under the torso of another athlete; not the arms or legs.

Clarification – L1 Release Variation

The correct answer to the L1 Release Variation quiz is Illegal in L1. During the transition, around the time the top is performing the toe touch, the only connection between the top and a base is above shoulder level, making the stunt a prep level stunt by definition. The stunt is therefore illegal for being a prep level stunt without a spotter, Stunts A1.

Clarification – L1 Tick Sequence

The correct answer to the L1 Tick Sequence quiz is Illegal in Level 1. Both Dismounts B and Tosses A state “All waist level cradles are illegal” making the end of the sequence illegal in Level 1.

Clarification – L1 Lift

The correct answer to the Level 1 Lift quiz is the skill in the video is illegal in Level 1. Because the flyer is lifted by the waist to above the base’s head, this stunt requires a spotter.  We look at the connection between the flyer and the base in relation to the base’s body.  The only exception for these type of lifts not requiring a spotter is up to 1/2 twisting transitions that go to/from the performing surface.  This stunt goes from stunt to floor, the required base cannot also be the required spotter, and the other bases are not in position to be considered a spotter.

Clarification – L1 Backbend Stunt

The correct answer for the L1 Backbend Stunt quiz is Illegal in Level 1.  It’s illegal due to being a prep level stunt with no legal spotter (L1 Stunts A) as the girl under the hands of the bridge is the only one providing support at the hands therefore being a base. With the new spotter definition, a spotter cannot also be the required base simultaneously.

Clarification – L1 Sequence

The correct answer to the L1 Sequence quiz is Legal in L1. A prep level liberty in level 1 requires the following minimally:

  1. A flyer
  2. A base
  3. A spotter
  4. A bracer

In this video example there is not one person that fulfills two required positions simultaneously. In the prep level two legged stunt, the girl in orange was the required spotter.  When it transitioned to the prep level one legged stunt, the girl in orange becomes the required  bracer and the girl in teal becomes the legal spotter because she meets the spotter definition. As the stunt transitions from a two legged stunt to a one legged prep level stunt, each REQUIRED role is filled by a separate person:  The girl in teal is the legal spotter, the girl in gray is the base, and the girl in orange is the legal bracer.

Clarification – L1 Pick Up Half Turns

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about pick up 1/2 turns. The quiz results showed variety in what was voted as being illegal, probably due to an exception being added to the rules this season.

Previously the pick up 1/2 turn shown below was illegal in Level 1 for being a stunt that twisted more than 1/4 (L1 Stunts C).

This season an exception was added stating:

1/2 twist is allowed if the top person starts and ends on performing surface and is only supported at the waist and does not require an additional spotter.

This exception makes the video above and variations coming from a knee and/or kicking, as shown below, legal in Level 1.

The arm in arm version below is illegal in Level 1. The top person is not “only supported at the waist” so it doesn’t qualify for the exception, making it illegal per L1 Stunts C.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.