Category Archives: Level 2

Clarification – L2 Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Tumbling quiz is the tumbling pass is Legal in Level 2. The video is a running tumbling pass which allows a handspring series. The back extension roll does not change the pass into a standing tumbling pass.

Clarification – Half Twisting Roll

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Roll quiz is first Legal in Level 3. In Level 2 log rolls must start and end in cradle position, which the skill in the video does not. In Level 3, generally release moves may not twist, but there is an exception stating:

Log/barrel rolls may twist up to one rotation and must land in a cradle, or flat and horizontal, body position

The skill in the video meets this exception, making it Legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Leap Frog

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Leap Frog quiz is the skill is first Legal in Level 4 as performed in the video. During the leap frog the top person goes inverted. In Level 2 inversions may only be performed going from ground level to a non-inverted position. In Level 3 inversions are restricted to shoulder level, unless meeting the criteria for a suspended roll. In Level 4 inversions are allowed up to extended level.

The half twisting leap frog in the video below, without the top person going inverted during the transition, would be allowed in Level 2.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Helicopter

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Helicopter quiz is it’s Legal in Level 2. The top person is twisting simultaneously on the horizontal and vertical axes and the base in blue maintains contact with the top person during the entire transition. The definition of Twisting Stunt says:

Simultaneous rotation on the Vertical and Horizontal axes should be considered separately, not cumulatively, when determining the degree of twist.

The amount on twisting on neither axis exceeds a 1/2 twist, which is the limit in Level 2 and the base in blue maintaining contact with the top person makes the skill a regular transition instead of a release move.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Twisting in General

The correct answer to the Twisting in General quiz is the “Twisting C” video is the only version that exceeds a 1/2 twist.

In Twisting C there is nothing separating the 1/2 twisting entry from the 1/2 twisting rotation by the bases, making the skill a full twist from a rules point of view.

In Twisting A there is a clear stop between the 1/2 twisting entry and the bases rotating an additional 1/2. In this example the bases rotation, following clearly stopping the 1/2 twisting entry, could have twisted in the same stunt position forever without being considered a transition.

In Twisting B there is a change in twisting direction, making the skill a 1/2 twist in one direction, followed by a 1/2 twist in the opposite direction.

In Twisting D there is a dip following the 1/2 twisting entry. The bottom of the dip is a new point of initiation, making the 1/2 to extension a separate skill from the 1/2 twist to prep.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Over/Under Stunt

The correct answer to the Over/Under Stunt quiz is No, the stunt doesn’t break the over/under rule. Although the video shows torsos passing over and under each other, they are both part of the same stunt so it’s not a stunt, pyramid, or individual moving over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual, emphasis on separate.

Stunt Over/Under Rule:

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. Clarification: This pertains to an athlete’s torso moving over or under the torso of another athlete; not the arms or legs.

Clarification – L2 Jumps & Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Jumps & Tumbling quiz is the sequence is Legal in Level 2. Although “Jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed” per Standing Tumbling C, a T-Jump is not a jump skill, emphasis on skill, and therefore breaks up the tumbling pass per General Tumbling E.

Clarification – Half Up Extension II

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension II quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The athletes on the side are under the top’s feet, making them bases. The athlete starting behind the top person is in front of the top person while the stunt is up, which doesn’t meet the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Half Up Extension

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The 2 athletes on the side have their hands under separate feet of the top person, making them both bases. The remaining person on the ground is not to the back or side as required by the definition of spotter.

Clarification – L2 Twist to Prone

The correct answer for the L2 Twist to Prone quiz is Legal in Level 2. Both 1/2 twisting skills are unreleased making them legal 1/2 twisting transitions per Stunts C.