Category Archives: Level 2

Clarification – L2 Twist to Prone

The correct answer for the L2 Twist to Prone quiz is Legal in Level 2. Both 1/2 twisting skills are unreleased making them legal 1/2 twisting transitions per Stunts C.

Clarification – 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Handspring

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Handsprings. Most voters were correct in stating this is legal starting in Level 2. To get to this answer you’ll need to know a standing back handspring is legal in Level 2 and look at a couple glossary definitions.

I believe most people calling this combination illegal in Level 2 would point to Standing Tumbling C:

Jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed.

To determine if this rule applies we need to determine if a 1/4 turn T-Jump is a “Jump Skill”. The definition of Jump Skill is:

A skill which involves a change in body position during a jump. i.e. toe touch, pike, etc…

That definition addresses the T-Jump part, but not the 1/4 turn part. The 1/4 turn part is addressed in the definition of “Jump Turn”, which states:

Any turn that is added to a jump. A “straight jump” with a turn does not make the jump a “jump skill”.

This definition clearly states the turn alone does not make it a Jump Skill, making it so Standing Tumbling C doesn’t apply, leading to the skill being legal. A similar process would lead to a 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Tuck being legal in Level 4.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Clarification – Cradle with “Spotter Grip”

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about cradling from a prep with what has become known as the “Spotter Grip”. The results to that quiz showed most voters selecting Level 2, followed by the second most voters selecting Level 6, the correct answer.

Previously, the male having his front hand under the foot and back hand on the back of the ankle, aka the “spotter grip”, would have met the definition of spotter. The updated definition of spotter makes both supporting athletes bases, leaving the stunt without a spotter, making the stunt (prior to the cradle) illegal in Level 1 (L1 Stunts A1). The stunt (prior to the cradle) is legal in Level 2 and higher as prep level stunts don’t require spotters in these levels.

Since the stunt is a multi-base stunt, the cradle must follow the multi-based stunt cradle rule for Levels 1-5 (Dismounts B), which requires 2 catchers and a spotter. The cradle as performed in the video does not follow this rule, making it illegal in Levels 1-5. Level 6 doesn’t have a similar multi-based stunt dismount rule, making the cradle legal in Level 6.

Clarification – Release Moves

The definition of Release Move has been updated this year and now applies to Stunts and Pyramids alike. The updated definition is:

When the top person becomes free of contact with all people on the performing surface; see “Free Release Move”

This definition means skills including a pyramid leap frog and a braced flip are release moves. Even with the top person remaining in contact with a bracer the skill is a release move if the top person is not in contact with anyone on the performing surface.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Clarification – Show and Go with “Spotter Grip”

The USASF Rules Glossary received a significant upgrade this summer and is now included as part of the Rules PDF file. Within that upgrade the definition of spotter has been updated and now states (in part):

The spotter:

May not be considered both a base and the required spotter at the same time.

Example: In a two leg stunt, the base of one of the legs is not allowed to also be considered the required spotter (regardless of the grip).

This update makes the show and go in the video below ILLEGAL in Levels 1-5 for not having the required spotter. The male base in the video placing his back hand on the back of the top person’s ankle no longer allows him to be considered the spotter. The skill would need an additional person meeting the definition of spotter to be legal in Levels 2-5. It would need to stay at prep level or lower and have an additional person meeting the definition of spotter to be legal in Level 1.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.