Category Archives: Level 3

Clarification – Arabesque to Cradle Position

The correct answer to the Arabesque to Cradle Position quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 2. As performed in the video, the back under one foot of the top person while the top is above his head. This makes the skill an extended single let stunt, which is not allowed in Level 2 (Stunts B1).

The video below, with the back on both ankles of the top person instead of being under the top person’s foot, is a version that is Legal in Level 2.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Shoulder Sit Back Walkover

The correct answer to the Shoulder Sit Back Walkover quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. The back walkover transition from a stunt to the performing surface is a downward inversion. The downward inversion starting in a shoulder sit, which is defined as being a prep level stunt, is not allowed in Level 3. In Level 3, “downward inversions are only allowed at waist level…” per Stunts J3.

A shoulder sit being defined as a prep level stunt negates the argument that the base of the shoulder sit having her hands around waist level and under the feet of the top makes the stunt a waist level stunt.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Log Roll to Flat Back

The correct answer to the Log Roll to Flat Back quiz is the skill is first legal in Youth 5. As performed the skill in the video is both a full twisting log roll and a quarter turning helicopter, and the first level allowing a twisting helicopter is Youth 5.

Below is a version that is legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Kick Full from Prep

The correct answer to the Kick Full from Prep quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. With the skill not being fully released from the bases it does not meet the definition of a dismount, making it a stunt transition. The maximum amount of twisting for a stunt in Level 3 is 1 twisting rotation (Stunts C1) and the amount of twisting in the video exceeds that limit.

Below is an example of a Kick Full from Prep that is Legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Prep Release to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep Release to Prone quiz is the skill is Not Legal at any level as performed. Although the likely intent is to land prone, the top person goes inverted. This makes the skill in the video a release move landing inverted, which isn’t allowed at any level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Roll

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Roll quiz is first Legal in Level 3. In Level 2 log rolls must start and end in cradle position, which the skill in the video does not. In Level 3, generally release moves may not twist, but there is an exception stating:

Log/barrel rolls may twist up to one rotation and must land in a cradle, or flat and horizontal, body position

The skill in the video meets this exception, making it Legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Handstand Released to Prep

The correct answer to the Handstand Released to Prep quiz is the the skill is first Legal in Level 6 as performed. Release move rules says:

the bottom of the dip will be used to determine if the initial position was inverted

In the video the top person was dipped so low that she was no longer inverted at the bottom of the dip. This means she went from a non-inverted position, pass through being inverted, returning to a non-inverted position, also known as flipping. Flipping entries aren’t allowed until Level 6, giving us the correct answer.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Twisting in General

The correct answer to the Twisting in General quiz is the “Twisting C” video is the only version that exceeds a 1/2 twist.

In Twisting C there is nothing separating the 1/2 twisting entry from the 1/2 twisting rotation by the bases, making the skill a full twist from a rules point of view.

In Twisting A there is a clear stop between the 1/2 twisting entry and the bases rotating an additional 1/2. In this example the bases rotation, following clearly stopping the 1/2 twisting entry, could have twisted in the same stunt position forever without being considered a transition.

In Twisting B there is a change in twisting direction, making the skill a 1/2 twist in one direction, followed by a 1/2 twist in the opposite direction.

In Twisting D there is a dip following the 1/2 twisting entry. The bottom of the dip is a new point of initiation, making the 1/2 to extension a separate skill from the 1/2 twist to prep.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the Downward Inversion quiz is No, it is only an Inverted Stunt. The definition of a Downward Inversion is:

A stunt or pyramid in which an inverted person’s center of gravity is moving towards the performing surface.

In this stunt when the top person is inverted her center of gravity is not moving towards the performing surface therefor it is not a downward inversion. Had the top person been in a prep level inversion, dropped to waist level, then rotated to her feet the skill would be considered a downward inversion during the drop from prep to waist level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Cradle from Inversion

The correct answer to the Cradle from Inversion quiz is it’s first legal in Level 4. In Levels 1-2 both the inverted stunt and dismount would be illegal. In Level 3 the stunt would be legal, but the dismount rules state “Dismounts from an inverted position are not allowed” (Dismounts O). In Level 4 the dismount rule changes to “Dismounts from an inverted position may not twist” (Dismounts N), allowing non-twisting cradles from inverted position.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.