Category Archives: Level 3

Clarification – L3 Handstand Full Up

The correct answer to the L3 Handstand Full Up quiz is the sequence is Illegal in Level 3. The skill is an inversion with a full twist, breaking the half twist limit for inversions in Level 3 (Stunts J2). The only exception allowing an inversion to twist more than half in Level 3 is a suspended forward roll.

Clarification – Over/Under Stunt

The correct answer to the Over/Under Stunt quiz is No, the stunt doesn’t break the over/under rule. Although the video shows torsos passing over and under each other, they are both part of the same stunt so it’s not a stunt, pyramid, or individual moving over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual, emphasis on separate.

Stunt Over/Under Rule:

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. Clarification: This pertains to an athlete’s torso moving over or under the torso of another athlete; not the arms or legs.

Clarification – Tuck & Roll

The correct answer to the Tuck & Roll quiz is Illegal in Level 3. Although a forward or backward roll is allowed after a tuck in Level 3 Running Tumbling, the exception does not include Back Extension Rolls.

Clarification – Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit

The correct answer to the Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit quiz is the skill is first legal in Level 4. Levels 1 and 2 do not allow downward inversions. Level 3 allows downward inversions, but only from waist level or below. The starting point of this downward inversion is a shoulder sit, which is defined as prep level in the glossary, and downward inversions from prep level start being allowed in Level 4.

Clarification – Half Up Extension II

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension II quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The athletes on the side are under the top’s feet, making them bases. The athlete starting behind the top person is in front of the top person while the stunt is up, which doesn’t meet the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Half Up Extension

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The 2 athletes on the side have their hands under separate feet of the top person, making them both bases. The remaining person on the ground is not to the back or side as required by the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Twisting from Side

The correct answer to the Twisting from Side quiz is first legal in Level 4. The skill is a 1 3/4 twisting cradle from a 2 leg stunt which is not allowed in Level 3 per Dismounts E and is allowed in Level 4 per Dismounts D. The updated definition of stunt makes it clear a stunt with the top person not being supported under any foot is considered a 2 leg stunt.

Clarification – L3 Full Down

The correct answer to the L3 Full Down quiz is Illegal Stunt, specifically per Stunts A. Once the back grabs under the top person’s foot and becomes the only person under that foot, he is considered a base. This leaves the stunt above prep level without a spotter.

Another common variation of this skill is also illegal. In this video the back grabs the ankle of the top person, versus under the foot as done in the first video, which doesn’t change the stunt to a 2 leg stunt. This variation is illegal due to fulling down from a 1 leg stunt per Dismounts D.

Clarification – Youth 3 Liberty

The correct answer to the Youth 3 liberty quiz is option A. Option A is a multi-based stunt defined as having 2 or more bases not including a spotter and Option B is a single based stunt defined as having a single base for support. Because single base or assisted single base EXTENDED stunts are not allowed in Youth and younger divisions, Option B is illegal.

Clarification – Cradle with “Spotter Grip”

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about cradling from a prep with what has become known as the “Spotter Grip”. The results to that quiz showed most voters selecting Level 2, followed by the second most voters selecting Level 6, the correct answer.

Previously, the male having his front hand under the foot and back hand on the back of the ankle, aka the “spotter grip”, would have met the definition of spotter. The updated definition of spotter makes both supporting athletes bases, leaving the stunt without a spotter, making the stunt (prior to the cradle) illegal in Level 1 (L1 Stunts A1). The stunt (prior to the cradle) is legal in Level 2 and higher as prep level stunts don’t require spotters in these levels.

Since the stunt is a multi-base stunt, the cradle must follow the multi-based stunt cradle rule for Levels 1-5 (Dismounts B), which requires 2 catchers and a spotter. The cradle as performed in the video does not follow this rule, making it illegal in Levels 1-5. Level 6 doesn’t have a similar multi-based stunt dismount rule, making the cradle legal in Level 6.