Category Archives: Level 5

Clarification – Log Roll to Flat Back

The correct answer to the Log Roll to Flat Back quiz is the skill is first legal in Youth 5. As performed the skill in the video is both a full twisting log roll and a quarter turning helicopter, and the first level allowing a twisting helicopter is Youth 5.

Below is a version that is legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Prep Release to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep Release to Prone quiz is the skill is Not Legal at any level as performed. Although the likely intent is to land prone, the top person goes inverted. This makes the skill in the video a release move landing inverted, which isn’t allowed at any level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Helicopter

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Helicopter quiz is it’s Legal in Level 2. The top person is twisting simultaneously on the horizontal and vertical axes and the base in blue maintains contact with the top person during the entire transition. The definition of Twisting Stunt says:

Simultaneous rotation on the Vertical and Horizontal axes should be considered separately, not cumulatively, when determining the degree of twist.

The amount on twisting on neither axis exceeds a 1/2 twist, which is the limit in Level 2 and the base in blue maintaining contact with the top person makes the skill a regular transition instead of a release move.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Handstand Released to Prep

The correct answer to the Handstand Released to Prep quiz is the the skill is first Legal in Level 6 as performed. Release move rules says:

the bottom of the dip will be used to determine if the initial position was inverted

In the video the top person was dipped so low that she was no longer inverted at the bottom of the dip. This means she went from a non-inverted position, pass through being inverted, returning to a non-inverted position, also known as flipping. Flipping entries aren’t allowed until Level 6, giving us the correct answer.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the Downward Inversion quiz is No, it is only an Inverted Stunt. The definition of a Downward Inversion is:

A stunt or pyramid in which an inverted person’s center of gravity is moving towards the performing surface.

In this stunt when the top person is inverted her center of gravity is not moving towards the performing surface therefor it is not a downward inversion. Had the top person been in a prep level inversion, dropped to waist level, then rotated to her feet the skill would be considered a downward inversion during the drop from prep to waist level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Cradle from Inversion

The correct answer to the Cradle from Inversion quiz is it’s first legal in Level 4. In Levels 1-2 both the inverted stunt and dismount would be illegal. In Level 3 the stunt would be legal, but the dismount rules state “Dismounts from an inverted position are not allowed” (Dismounts O). In Level 4 the dismount rule changes to “Dismounts from an inverted position may not twist” (Dismounts N), allowing non-twisting cradles from inverted position.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L5 Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the L5 Downward Inversion quiz is the downward inversion is Illegal in Level 5. Regardless of where the stunt originates, if it passes above prep level and then becomes inverted, it requires 3 catchers and cannot touch the ground inverted. Although the skill in the video initiates below prep level, and the top person isn’t inverted above prep level, it does pass above prep level prior to the downward inversion therefor making the skill illegal for not being assisted by 3 catcher (Stunts H2) and touching the ground inverted (Stunts H4b).

Clarification – Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit II

The correct answer to the second Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit quiz is the skill is first legal in Youth 5. Although Level 4 allows downward inversions from prep level, they also require 3 catchers (Stunts J2). Youth 5, Restricted 5, Level 5, and Level 6 do not require 3 catchers for downward inversions from prep level, making the correct answer Youth 5.

Clarification – Inversion from Arabesque

The correct answer for the Inversion from Arabesque quiz is the skill is legal for level 5 as it has the necessary 3 catchers for the downward inversion and the contact is initiated at the shoulder level (or above) of the bases. Per the recent clarification for level 5:

Clarification: Downward inversions originating from prep level or below do not require three bases. If the stunt begins at prep level or below and becomes inverted above prep level it requires 3 bases. (The momentum of the top person coming down is the primary safety concern.)

Bonus Answer

The answer to the Bonus Quiz is the skill would be Illegal in Level 5 with 1 less base. In the video the top person becomes inverted above prep level making 3 catchers required for the downward inversion, per the red text of the rule quoted above.

Clarification – Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit

The correct answer to the Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit quiz is the skill is first legal in Level 4. Levels 1 and 2 do not allow downward inversions. Level 3 allows downward inversions, but only from waist level or below. The starting point of this downward inversion is a shoulder sit, which is defined as prep level in the glossary, and downward inversions from prep level start being allowed in Level 4.