Category Archives: Level 6

Clarification – Prep Release to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep Release to Prone quiz is the skill is Not Legal at any level as performed. Although the likely intent is to land prone, the top person goes inverted. This makes the skill in the video a release move landing inverted, which isn’t allowed at any level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Handstand Released to Prep

The correct answer to the Handstand Released to Prep quiz is the the skill is first Legal in Level 6 as performed. Release move rules says:

the bottom of the dip will be used to determine if the initial position was inverted

In the video the top person was dipped so low that she was no longer inverted at the bottom of the dip. This means she went from a non-inverted position, pass through being inverted, returning to a non-inverted position, also known as flipping. Flipping entries aren’t allowed until Level 6, giving us the correct answer.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L6 Flip to Prone

The correct answer to the L6 Flip to Prone quiz is Illegal. The most correct rule to cite for this skill is Stunts D, specifically because of the 1st clarification, stating:

Clarification: Free flipping stunts and transitions that do not start on the performing surface are not allowed.

The skill does not meet the definition of dismount because it does not land in a cradle or on the performance surface. The skill meets the definition of a toss, but Tosses B says tosses must land in cradle position, which does not include landing prone.

Clarification – Half Up Extension II

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension II quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The athletes on the side are under the top’s feet, making them bases. The athlete starting behind the top person is in front of the top person while the stunt is up, which doesn’t meet the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Half Up Extension

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The 2 athletes on the side have their hands under separate feet of the top person, making them both bases. The remaining person on the ground is not to the back or side as required by the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Cradle with “Spotter Grip”

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about cradling from a prep with what has become known as the “Spotter Grip”. The results to that quiz showed most voters selecting Level 2, followed by the second most voters selecting Level 6, the correct answer.

Previously, the male having his front hand under the foot and back hand on the back of the ankle, aka the “spotter grip”, would have met the definition of spotter. The updated definition of spotter makes both supporting athletes bases, leaving the stunt without a spotter, making the stunt (prior to the cradle) illegal in Level 1 (L1 Stunts A1). The stunt (prior to the cradle) is legal in Level 2 and higher as prep level stunts don’t require spotters in these levels.

Since the stunt is a multi-base stunt, the cradle must follow the multi-based stunt cradle rule for Levels 1-5 (Dismounts B), which requires 2 catchers and a spotter. The cradle as performed in the video does not follow this rule, making it illegal in Levels 1-5. Level 6 doesn’t have a similar multi-based stunt dismount rule, making the cradle legal in Level 6.

Clarification – Back Handspring Ups

Back Handspring Ups to extended level, as shown in the video below, are first legal in Level 4. In Level 3 you can neither release from an inverted position (L3 Stunts I2) nor release to an extended position (L3 Stunts I3), but both of these restrictions are loosened in Level 4. Level 4 allows release moves from an inverted position (L4 Stunts I2) and release moves to extended position from waist level or below (L4 Stunts I4), therefore Back Handspring Ups to extended position are allowed in Level 4. Please keep in mind release moves to extended level may not twist in Level 4, so please don’t perform a twisting variation of the skill in the video.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Clarification – Release Moves

The definition of Release Move has been updated this year and now applies to Stunts and Pyramids alike. The updated definition is:

When the top person becomes free of contact with all people on the performing surface; see “Free Release Move”

This definition means skills including a pyramid leap frog and a braced flip are release moves. Even with the top person remaining in contact with a bracer the skill is a release move if the top person is not in contact with anyone on the performing surface.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.