Category Archives: Clarifications

Clarification – Half Twisting Helicopter

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Helicopter quiz is it’s Legal in Level 2. The top person is twisting simultaneously on the horizontal and vertical axes and the base in blue maintains contact with the top person during the entire transition. The definition of Twisting Stunt says:

Simultaneous rotation on the Vertical and Horizontal axes should be considered separately, not cumulatively, when determining the degree of twist.

The amount on twisting on neither axis exceeds a 1/2 twist, which is the limit in Level 2 and the base in blue maintaining contact with the top person makes the skill a regular transition instead of a release move.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Handstand Released to Prep

The correct answer to the Handstand Released to Prep quiz is the the skill is first Legal in Level 6 as performed. Release move rules says:

the bottom of the dip will be used to determine if the initial position was inverted

In the video the top person was dipped so low that she was no longer inverted at the bottom of the dip. This means she went from a non-inverted position, pass through being inverted, returning to a non-inverted position, also known as flipping. Flipping entries aren’t allowed until Level 6, giving us the correct answer.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Prep to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep to Prone quiz is the skill is first Legal in Level 4. As performed the top person goes inverted, not just stopping at prone, making the skill a downward inversion. Downward inversions from prep level are first allowed in Level 4, making the correct answer Level 4.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L1 Prep Level Liberty

The correct answer to the L1 Prep Level Liberty quiz is the skill is Legal in Level 1. All 4 required roles, Top, Base, Spotter, and Bracer, are filled by different people. The Top is in red and being supported off the performing surface. The Base is in blue, supporting the top person under the foot. The Spotter is in black, in a position to protect the top person’s head and neck. The Bracer is in purple, connected to the top person’s arm. If these 4 roles are filled by different athletes ta prep level liberty can be legally performed in Level 1.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Twisting in General

The correct answer to the Twisting in General quiz is the “Twisting C” video is the only version that exceeds a 1/2 twist.

In Twisting C there is nothing separating the 1/2 twisting entry from the 1/2 twisting rotation by the bases, making the skill a full twist from a rules point of view.

In Twisting A there is a clear stop between the 1/2 twisting entry and the bases rotating an additional 1/2. In this example the bases rotation, following clearly stopping the 1/2 twisting entry, could have twisted in the same stunt position forever without being considered a transition.

In Twisting B there is a change in twisting direction, making the skill a 1/2 twist in one direction, followed by a 1/2 twist in the opposite direction.

In Twisting D there is a dip following the 1/2 twisting entry. The bottom of the dip is a new point of initiation, making the 1/2 to extension a separate skill from the 1/2 twist to prep.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the Downward Inversion quiz is No, it is only an Inverted Stunt. The definition of a Downward Inversion is:

A stunt or pyramid in which an inverted person’s center of gravity is moving towards the performing surface.

In this stunt when the top person is inverted her center of gravity is not moving towards the performing surface therefor it is not a downward inversion. Had the top person been in a prep level inversion, dropped to waist level, then rotated to her feet the skill would be considered a downward inversion during the drop from prep to waist level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Cradle from Inversion

The correct answer to the Cradle from Inversion quiz is it’s first legal in Level 4. In Levels 1-2 both the inverted stunt and dismount would be illegal. In Level 3 the stunt would be legal, but the dismount rules state “Dismounts from an inverted position are not allowed” (Dismounts O). In Level 4 the dismount rule changes to “Dismounts from an inverted position may not twist” (Dismounts N), allowing non-twisting cradles from inverted position.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L4 Helicopter Tosses

The correct answer to the L4 Helicopter Tosses quiz is both are Legal in Level 4. The part of the rule bolded below makes people question where the catchers need to be positioned.

…must be caught by at least 3 catchers, one of which is positioned at head and shoulder area of the top.

The official interpretation is both the base in blue and the base in yellow cover this requirement by being positioned at or above the waist of the top person and catching with one of their hands or arms above her waist.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Chairs

The correct answer to the Chairs quiz is a chair is a One Leg, Prep Level stunt. The glossary definition of chair begins with “A prep level stunt …” making it clear a chair is prep level from a rules point of view.

The one leg or two leg part is a little trickier and requires looking at the glossary definition of Stunt. It says:

A stunt is determined to be “One Leg” or “Two Leg” by the number of feet that the top person has being supported by a base(s). If the top person is not supported under any foot, then the number of legs in which the top person is supported will determine if it is a “One Leg” or a “Two Leg” stunt.

Exception: If a top person is in a non-upright position, which is not supported under any foot, then the stunt will be considered a “Two Leg” stunt.

Since a chair is not supported under either foot we move to the number of legs supported. The chair being supported on 1 leg, at the ankle, makes the chair a One Leg stunt, making One Leg, Prep Level the correct answer to the quiz.

Chair

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L3 Handstand Full Up

The correct answer to the L3 Handstand Full Up quiz is the sequence is Illegal in Level 3. The skill is an inversion with a full twist, breaking the half twist limit for inversions in Level 3 (Stunts J2). The only exception allowing an inversion to twist more than half in Level 3 is a suspended forward roll.