Tag Archives: Cradles

Clarification – L1 Tick Sequence

The correct answer to the L1 Tick Sequence quiz is Illegal in Level 1. Both Dismounts B and Tosses A state “All waist level cradles are illegal” making the end of the sequence illegal in Level 1.

Clarification – Cradle with “Spotter Grip”

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about cradling from a prep with what has become known as the “Spotter Grip”. The results to that quiz showed most voters selecting Level 2, followed by the second most voters selecting Level 6, the correct answer.

Previously, the male having his front hand under the foot and back hand on the back of the ankle, aka the “spotter grip”, would have met the definition of spotter. The updated definition of spotter makes both supporting athletes bases, leaving the stunt without a spotter, making the stunt (prior to the cradle) illegal in Level 1 (L1 Stunts A1). The stunt (prior to the cradle) is legal in Level 2 and higher as prep level stunts don’t require spotters in these levels.

Since the stunt is a multi-base stunt, the cradle must follow the multi-based stunt cradle rule for Levels 1-5 (Dismounts B), which requires 2 catchers and a spotter. The cradle as performed in the video does not follow this rule, making it illegal in Levels 1-5. Level 6 doesn’t have a similar multi-based stunt dismount rule, making the cradle legal in Level 6.

Quiz – Cradle with “Spotter Grip”

This week’s quiz is about cradling from a 2 person prep without a back. The quiz will be open until Thursday at noon (Central). Be sure to check out last week’s quiz update with the answer and results.

The Cradle with Spotter Grip quiz closed on September 10th. See below for the answer and results.

Update:

The correct answer is Level 6. The results were:

  • Level 1 – 10 Votes
  • Level 2 – 64 Votes
  • Level 3 – 23 Votes
  • Level 4 – 4 Votes
  • Level 5 – 1 Vote
  • Level 6 – 40 Votes

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Dismounts & Log Rolls

There is some misunderstanding about what is considered a dismount versus a transition. Per the rules:

Movements are only considered “Dismounts” if released to a cradle or released and assisted to the performing surface.

The first thing required of a dismount is the top person must be “Released” from everyone on the ground. If top person remains in contact with a base or the back, the skill is not a dismount. The second part is the top must land in a cradle or on the floor. Landing prone automatically makes the skill a transition, not a dismount.

Log rolls must also follow Dismounts A & B, which basically say if a log roll is thrown by 1 person it must be caught by 2, and if thrown by 2 or more people it must be caught by 3. The problems we see with this occur when a single based stunt, a prep level liberty for example, is legally cradled and caught by 2 people then immediately goes into a log roll that is caught by the same 2 people. The liberty and log roll are considered separate stunts. Catching the liberty cradle with 2 people is legal because it was a single based stunt, but those 2 people throwing the log roll make the log roll a multi-based stunt, requiring 3 catchers.