Tag Archives: Downward Inversions

Clarification – Shoulder Sit Back Walkover

The correct answer to the Shoulder Sit Back Walkover quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. The back walkover transition from a stunt to the performing surface is a downward inversion. The downward inversion starting in a shoulder sit, which is defined as being a prep level stunt, is not allowed in Level 3. In Level 3, “downward inversions are only allowed at waist level…” per Stunts J3.

A shoulder sit being defined as a prep level stunt negates the argument that the base of the shoulder sit having her hands around waist level and under the feet of the top makes the stunt a waist level stunt.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Quiz – Shoulder Sit Back Walkover

For this week’s quiz we’ve moved to Level 3. The quiz will be open until Friday.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

The correct answer to the Shoulder Sit Back Walkover quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 3 – 155 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 3 – 216 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L4 Prep Liberty to Pancake

The correct answer to the L4 Prep Liberty to Pancake quiz is the skill is Illegal in Level 4 as performed. The skill is a downward inversion passing above prep level, which is not allowed per Stunts J2, Clarification 1. The exception

“Exception: Two leg “Pancake” stunts must start at shoulder level or below and are allowed to immediately pass through the extended position during the skill.”

does not apply because the skill is not a two leg stunt for the entire transition. Specifically the skill is not a two leg stunt at initiation, which is the bottom of the dip, instead it becomes a two leg stunt during the transition. The glossary definition of Pancake is

A downward inversion stunt in which both of the top person’s legs/feet remain in the grip of a base(s) while performing a fold over/pike forward rotation to be caught on the top person’s back.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Quiz – L4 Prep Liberty to Pancake

For this week’s quiz we’re looking at Level 4 Pancakes. The quiz will be open until Friday.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer to the Prep Release to Prone quiz is the skill is Not Legal in Any Level. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 4 – 163 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 4 – 172 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Prep to Prone

The correct answer to the Prep to Prone quiz is the skill is first Legal in Level 4. As performed the top person goes inverted, not just stopping at prone, making the skill a downward inversion. Downward inversions from prep level are first allowed in Level 4, making the correct answer Level 4.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the Downward Inversion quiz is No, it is only an Inverted Stunt. The definition of a Downward Inversion is:

A stunt or pyramid in which an inverted person’s center of gravity is moving towards the performing surface.

In this stunt when the top person is inverted her center of gravity is not moving towards the performing surface therefor it is not a downward inversion. Had the top person been in a prep level inversion, dropped to waist level, then rotated to her feet the skill would be considered a downward inversion during the drop from prep to waist level.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Quiz – Downward Inversion

For this week’s quiz we’re moving to inversions and downward inversions. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer to the Downward Inversion quiz is “No, it is only an Inverted Stunt”. The poll results were:

  • Yes, it is a Downward Inversion – 80 Votes
  • No, it is only an Inverted Stunt – 223 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L5 Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the L5 Downward Inversion quiz is the downward inversion is Illegal in Level 5. Regardless of where the stunt originates, if it passes above prep level and then becomes inverted, it requires 3 catchers and cannot touch the ground inverted. Although the skill in the video initiates below prep level, and the top person isn’t inverted above prep level, it does pass above prep level prior to the downward inversion therefor making the skill illegal for not being assisted by 3 catcher (Stunts H2) and touching the ground inverted (Stunts H4b).

Quiz – L5 Downward Inversion

This week’s quiz keeps us in Level 5, this time with a Downward Inversion. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is Illegal in Level 5. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 5 – 129 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 5 – 88 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Clarification – Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit II

The correct answer to the second Cartwheel Off Shoulder Sit quiz is the skill is first legal in Youth 5. Although Level 4 allows downward inversions from prep level, they also require 3 catchers (Stunts J2). Youth 5, Restricted 5, Level 5, and Level 6 do not require 3 catchers for downward inversions from prep level, making the correct answer Youth 5.