Tag Archives: Glossary

Clarification – Chairs

The correct answer to the Chairs quiz is a chair is a One Leg, Prep Level stunt. The glossary definition of chair begins with “A prep level stunt …” making it clear a chair is prep level from a rules point of view.

The one leg or two leg part is a little trickier and requires looking at the glossary definition of Stunt. It says:

A stunt is determined to be “One Leg” or “Two Leg” by the number of feet that the top person has being supported by a base(s). If the top person is not supported under any foot, then the number of legs in which the top person is supported will determine if it is a “One Leg” or a “Two Leg” stunt.

Exception: If a top person is in a non-upright position, which is not supported under any foot, then the stunt will be considered a “Two Leg” stunt.

Since a chair is not supported under either foot we move to the number of legs supported. The chair being supported on 1 leg, at the ankle, makes the chair a One Leg stunt, making One Leg, Prep Level the correct answer to the quiz.

Chair

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Twisting from Side

The correct answer to the Twisting from Side quiz is first legal in Level 4. The skill is a 1 3/4 twisting cradle from a 2 leg stunt which is not allowed in Level 3 per Dismounts E and is allowed in Level 4 per Dismounts D. The updated definition of stunt makes it clear a stunt with the top person not being supported under any foot is considered a 2 leg stunt.

Clarification – Release Moves

The definition of Release Move has been updated this year and now applies to Stunts and Pyramids alike. The updated definition is:

When the top person becomes free of contact with all people on the performing surface; see “Free Release Move”

This definition means skills including a pyramid leap frog and a braced flip are release moves. Even with the top person remaining in contact with a bracer the skill is a release move if the top person is not in contact with anyone on the performing surface.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Clarification – Show and Go with “Spotter Grip”

The USASF Rules Glossary received a significant upgrade this summer and is now included as part of the Rules PDF file. Within that upgrade the definition of spotter has been updated and now states (in part):

The spotter:

May not be considered both a base and the required spotter at the same time.

Example: In a two leg stunt, the base of one of the legs is not allowed to also be considered the required spotter (regardless of the grip).

This update makes the show and go in the video below ILLEGAL in Levels 1-5 for not having the required spotter. The male base in the video placing his back hand on the back of the top person’s ankle no longer allows him to be considered the spotter. The skill would need an additional person meeting the definition of spotter to be legal in Levels 2-5. It would need to stay at prep level or lower and have an additional person meeting the definition of spotter to be legal in Level 1.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

2015-16 Glossary – Public Draft

The 2015-16 Glossary is now available. This is currently a draft version or working document and the Rules Committee expects to release another version following the regional meetings.

2015-16 Glossary – Public Draft