Tag Archives: Level 2

Clarification – L2 Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Tumbling quiz is the tumbling pass is Legal in Level 2. The video is a running tumbling pass which allows a handspring series. The back extension roll does not change the pass into a standing tumbling pass.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Quiz – L2 Tumbling

For this week’s quiz we’re looking at Level 2 tumbling. The quiz will be open until Friday.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

The correct answer to the L2 Tumbling quiz is the skill is Legal in Level 2. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 2 – 278 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 2 – 233 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L2 Jumps & Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Jumps & Tumbling quiz is the sequence is Legal in Level 2. Although “Jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed” per Standing Tumbling C, a T-Jump is not a jump skill, emphasis on skill, and therefore breaks up the tumbling pass per General Tumbling E.

Quiz – L2 Jumps & Tumbling

This week’s quiz takes us to Level 2. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is Legal in Level 2. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 2 – 274 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 2 – 73 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Clarification – L2 Twist to Prone

The correct answer for the L2 Twist to Prone quiz is Legal in Level 2. Both 1/2 twisting skills are unreleased making them legal 1/2 twisting transitions per Stunts C.

Quiz – L2 Twist to Prone

Our next quiz video is another sequence, this time for Level 2. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is Legal in Level 2. The poll results were:

  • Legal – 142 Votes
  • Illegal – 92 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Jump Skills to Tumbling

In Level 2, jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed and in Level 4 jump skills are not allowed in immediate combination with a standing flip. Non skilled jumps, such as a T-Jump, in combination with a tumbling skill do not break this rule, making the triple toe touch, t-jump, back handspring in the video legal in Level 2 and replacing the back handspring with a back tuck legal in Level 4. If you aren’t sure whether or not a jump would be considered a skilled jump, don’t do it.

Dismounts & Log Rolls

There is some misunderstanding about what is considered a dismount versus a transition. Per the rules:

Movements are only considered “Dismounts” if released to a cradle or released and assisted to the performing surface.

The first thing required of a dismount is the top person must be “Released” from everyone on the ground. If top person remains in contact with a base or the back, the skill is not a dismount. The second part is the top must land in a cradle or on the floor. Landing prone automatically makes the skill a transition, not a dismount.

Log rolls must also follow Dismounts A & B, which basically say if a log roll is thrown by 1 person it must be caught by 2, and if thrown by 2 or more people it must be caught by 3. The problems we see with this occur when a single based stunt, a prep level liberty for example, is legally cradled and caught by 2 people then immediately goes into a log roll that is caught by the same 2 people. The liberty and log roll are considered separate stunts. Catching the liberty cradle with 2 people is legal because it was a single based stunt, but those 2 people throwing the log roll make the log roll a multi-based stunt, requiring 3 catchers.

Over/Under Rules

The moving over, under, or through a stunt, pyramid, individual, or prop rules, collectively referred to as the “Over/Under” rules, are only applicable when passing over or under a torso. They do not apply to only passing over arms or legs. This means you can punch front over a leg without violating this rule. The tumbling restrictions regarding Over/Under are the same for all levels, including Level 6, stating:

Tumbling over, under, or through a stunt, individual, or prop, is not allowed.

The stunt and pyramid restrictions differ by level, and don’t exist for Level 5.

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. – Levels 1-3

No stunt or pyramid may move over or under another separate stunt or pyramid. – Level 4

Levels 1-3 can’t move Over/Under anything separate, but Level 4 can move Over/Under a separate individual. Please note use of the word “Separate” in the rules above because that is what makes some skills, leap frogs being an example, possible. A leap frog stunt passes over a torso, but since the top person is connected to the person they pass over, it’s not a separate stunt or individual so the rule doesn’t apply. The same concept applies to leap frog pyramids in higher levels.