Tag Archives: Level 5

Clarification – L5 Downward Inversion

The correct answer to the L5 Downward Inversion quiz is the downward inversion is Illegal in Level 5. Regardless of where the stunt originates, if it passes above prep level and then becomes inverted, it requires 3 catchers and cannot touch the ground inverted. Although the skill in the video initiates below prep level, and the top person isn’t inverted above prep level, it does pass above prep level prior to the downward inversion therefor making the skill illegal for not being assisted by 3 catcher (Stunts H2) and touching the ground inverted (Stunts H4b).

Quiz – L5 Downward Inversion

This week’s quiz keeps us in Level 5, this time with a Downward Inversion. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is Illegal in Level 5. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 5 – 129 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 5 – 88 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Over/Under Rules

The moving over, under, or through a stunt, pyramid, individual, or prop rules, collectively referred to as the “Over/Under” rules, are only applicable when passing over or under a torso. They do not apply to only passing over arms or legs. This means you can punch front over a leg without violating this rule. The tumbling restrictions regarding Over/Under are the same for all levels, including Level 6, stating:

Tumbling over, under, or through a stunt, individual, or prop, is not allowed.

The stunt and pyramid restrictions differ by level, and don’t exist for Level 5.

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. – Levels 1-3

No stunt or pyramid may move over or under another separate stunt or pyramid. – Level 4

Levels 1-3 can’t move Over/Under anything separate, but Level 4 can move Over/Under a separate individual. Please note use of the word “Separate” in the rules above because that is what makes some skills, leap frogs being an example, possible. A leap frog stunt passes over a torso, but since the top person is connected to the person they pass over, it’s not a separate stunt or individual so the rule doesn’t apply. The same concept applies to leap frog pyramids in higher levels.

Early Releases in Pyramids & Stunts

The most frequent violations so far this season have been related to early releases during pyramid release moves. When we refer to “Early Releases” we are saying the bracer and top person are not maintaining contact with each other. This year that requirement was made more strict and more objective than it was last season. It now says:

Clarification: Contact must be made with a base on the performing surface BEFORE contact with the bracer(s) is lost.

Stated another way this means the top person must be in contact with the required bracer(s) or someone on the ground at all times. (Exceptions to this must follow Stunt Release Move, Dismounts, or Toss rules). This applies to all pyramid release moves from Level 3 and up. It also applies to pyramid release moves with and without inversions.

For stunts we often see early releases during leap frog transitions in Level 2 and suspended forward rolls in Level 3. The early releases are due to the person initially holding the hands of the top person letting go early so they can catch the top’s seat or under the top’s arms, as they would in a standard cradle. If the top person is released during a leap frog in Level 2, the transition becomes a release move and illegal. If the top is released during a suspended forward roll in Level 3, the transition becomes a free flip and illegal.