Tag Archives: Log Rolls

Clarification – Log Roll to Flat Back

The correct answer to the Log Roll to Flat Back quiz is the skill is first legal in Youth 5. As performed the skill in the video is both a full twisting log roll and a quarter turning helicopter, and the first level allowing a twisting helicopter is Youth 5.

Below is a version that is legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Quiz – Log Roll to Flat Back

For this week’s quiz you’ll have to identify the level. The quiz will be open until Friday.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

The correct answer to the Log Roll to Flat Back quiz is the skill is first Legal in Youth 5. The poll results were:

  • Level 1 – 2 Votes
  • Level 2 – 36 Votes
  • Level 3 – 177 Votes
  • Level 4 – 116 Votes
  • Youth 5 – 15 Votes
  • Restricted 5 – 6 Votes
  • Level 5 – 9 Votes
  • Level 6 – 2 Votes
  • Not Legal in any Level – 3 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – Half Twisting Roll

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Roll quiz is first Legal in Level 3. In Level 2 log rolls must start and end in cradle position, which the skill in the video does not. In Level 3, generally release moves may not twist, but there is an exception stating:

Log/barrel rolls may twist up to one rotation and must land in a cradle, or flat and horizontal, body position

The skill in the video meets this exception, making it Legal in Level 3.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Quiz – Half Twisting Roll

For this week’s quiz we’re going to take a look at log rolls. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer to the Half Twisting Roll quiz is the skill is first Legal in Level 3. The poll results were:

  • Level 1 – 59 Votes
  • Level 2 – 163 Votes
  • Level 3 – 87 Votes
  • Level 4 – 29 Votes
  • Level Y5 – 1 Vote
  • Level R5 – 0 Votes
  • Level 5 – 1 Vote
  • Level 6 – 0 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Dismounts & Log Rolls

There is some misunderstanding about what is considered a dismount versus a transition. Per the rules:

Movements are only considered “Dismounts” if released to a cradle or released and assisted to the performing surface.

The first thing required of a dismount is the top person must be “Released” from everyone on the ground. If top person remains in contact with a base or the back, the skill is not a dismount. The second part is the top must land in a cradle or on the floor. Landing prone automatically makes the skill a transition, not a dismount.

Log rolls must also follow Dismounts A & B, which basically say if a log roll is thrown by 1 person it must be caught by 2, and if thrown by 2 or more people it must be caught by 3. The problems we see with this occur when a single based stunt, a prep level liberty for example, is legally cradled and caught by 2 people then immediately goes into a log roll that is caught by the same 2 people. The liberty and log roll are considered separate stunts. Catching the liberty cradle with 2 people is legal because it was a single based stunt, but those 2 people throwing the log roll make the log roll a multi-based stunt, requiring 3 catchers.