Tag Archives: Over/Under

Clarification – Over/Under Stunt

The correct answer to the Over/Under Stunt quiz is No, the stunt doesn’t break the over/under rule. Although the video shows torsos passing over and under each other, they are both part of the same stunt so it’s not a stunt, pyramid, or individual moving over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual, emphasis on separate.

Stunt Over/Under Rule:

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. Clarification: This pertains to an athlete’s torso moving over or under the torso of another athlete; not the arms or legs.

Quiz – Over/Under Stunt

For this week’s quiz we move away from levels and ask about interpretation. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

Stunt Over/Under Rule:

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. Clarification: This pertains to an athlete’s torso moving over or under the torso of another athlete; not the arms or legs.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is No, the stunt doesn’t break the over/under rule. The poll results were:

  • Yes, the skill breaks the over/under rule – 160 Votes
  • No, the skill doesn’t break the over/under rule – 142 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Over/Under Rules

The moving over, under, or through a stunt, pyramid, individual, or prop rules, collectively referred to as the “Over/Under” rules, are only applicable when passing over or under a torso. They do not apply to only passing over arms or legs. This means you can punch front over a leg without violating this rule. The tumbling restrictions regarding Over/Under are the same for all levels, including Level 6, stating:

Tumbling over, under, or through a stunt, individual, or prop, is not allowed.

The stunt and pyramid restrictions differ by level, and don’t exist for Level 5.

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. – Levels 1-3

No stunt or pyramid may move over or under another separate stunt or pyramid. – Level 4

Levels 1-3 can’t move Over/Under anything separate, but Level 4 can move Over/Under a separate individual. Please note use of the word “Separate” in the rules above because that is what makes some skills, leap frogs being an example, possible. A leap frog stunt passes over a torso, but since the top person is connected to the person they pass over, it’s not a separate stunt or individual so the rule doesn’t apply. The same concept applies to leap frog pyramids in higher levels.