Tag Archives: Spotter

Clarification – L1 Prep Level Liberty

The correct answer to the L1 Prep Level Liberty quiz is the skill is Legal in Level 1. All 4 required roles, Top, Base, Spotter, and Bracer, are filled by different people. The Top is in red and being supported off the performing surface. The Base is in blue, supporting the top person under the foot. The Spotter is in black, in a position to protect the top person’s head and neck. The Bracer is in purple, connected to the top person’s arm. If these 4 roles are filled by different athletes ta prep level liberty can be legally performed in Level 1.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L1 Tick Tock with Back

The correct answer to the L1 Tick Tock with Back quiz is the sequence is Illegal in Level 1. During the transition from arabesque to liberty the lowest point of contact between the top and a base is above the base’s shoulder level. This meets the definition of Prep Level, making the sequence illegal for having a prep level stunt without a spotter.

The original base that start on all 4s and changes to being on a knee cannot be considered the spotter because she is not standing as required by the definition of spotter.

Clarification – Half Up Extension II

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension II quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The athletes on the side are under the top’s feet, making them bases. The athlete starting behind the top person is in front of the top person while the stunt is up, which doesn’t meet the definition of spotter.

Quiz – Half Up Extension II

For our first quiz for 2016 you’ll have to give us the level. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answer & Results

The correct answer is the skill is first legal in Level 6. The poll results were:

  • Level 1 – 0 Votes
  • Level 2 – 101 Votes
  • Level 3 – 29 Votes
  • Level 4 – 10 Votes
  • Level 5Y – 2 Votes
  • Level 5R – 2 Votes
  • Level 5 – 8 Votes
  • Level 6 – 99 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Clarification – Half Up Extension

The correct answer to the Half Up Extension quiz is the skill in the video is first legal in Level 6. Levels 1-5 require a spotter for extended stunts and no one in the video meets the definition of spotter. The 2 athletes on the side have their hands under separate feet of the top person, making them both bases. The remaining person on the ground is not to the back or side as required by the definition of spotter.

Quiz – Half Up Extension

This week’s quiz is another one that you have to give us the level. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answer & Results

The correct answer is the skill is first legal in Level 6. The poll results were:

  • Level 1 – 2 Votes
  • Level 2 – 148 Votes
  • Level 3 – 37 Votes
  • Level 4 – 3 Votes
  • Level 5 – 1 Vote
  • Level 6 – 40 Votes
  • No Level – 75 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Clarification – L3 Full Down

The correct answer to the L3 Full Down quiz is Illegal Stunt, specifically per Stunts A. Once the back grabs under the top person’s foot and becomes the only person under that foot, he is considered a base. This leaves the stunt above prep level without a spotter.

Another common variation of this skill is also illegal. In this video the back grabs the ankle of the top person, versus under the foot as done in the first video, which doesn’t change the stunt to a 2 leg stunt. This variation is illegal due to fulling down from a 1 leg stunt per Dismounts D.

Clarification – L1 Backbend Stunt

The correct answer for the L1 Backbend Stunt quiz is Illegal in Level 1.  It’s illegal due to being a prep level stunt with no legal spotter (L1 Stunts A) as the girl under the hands of the bridge is the only one providing support at the hands therefore being a base. With the new spotter definition, a spotter cannot also be the required base simultaneously.

Clarification – L1 Sequence

The correct answer to the L1 Sequence quiz is Legal in L1. A prep level liberty in level 1 requires the following minimally:

  1. A flyer
  2. A base
  3. A spotter
  4. A bracer

In this video example there is not one person that fulfills two required positions simultaneously. In the prep level two legged stunt, the girl in orange was the required spotter.  When it transitioned to the prep level one legged stunt, the girl in orange becomes the required  bracer and the girl in teal becomes the legal spotter because she meets the spotter definition. As the stunt transitions from a two legged stunt to a one legged prep level stunt, each REQUIRED role is filled by a separate person:  The girl in teal is the legal spotter, the girl in gray is the base, and the girl in orange is the legal bracer.

Clarification – Cradle with “Spotter Grip”

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about cradling from a prep with what has become known as the “Spotter Grip”. The results to that quiz showed most voters selecting Level 2, followed by the second most voters selecting Level 6, the correct answer.

Previously, the male having his front hand under the foot and back hand on the back of the ankle, aka the “spotter grip”, would have met the definition of spotter. The updated definition of spotter makes both supporting athletes bases, leaving the stunt without a spotter, making the stunt (prior to the cradle) illegal in Level 1 (L1 Stunts A1). The stunt (prior to the cradle) is legal in Level 2 and higher as prep level stunts don’t require spotters in these levels.

Since the stunt is a multi-base stunt, the cradle must follow the multi-based stunt cradle rule for Levels 1-5 (Dismounts B), which requires 2 catchers and a spotter. The cradle as performed in the video does not follow this rule, making it illegal in Levels 1-5. Level 6 doesn’t have a similar multi-based stunt dismount rule, making the cradle legal in Level 6.