Tag Archives: Tumbling

Clarification – L2 Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Tumbling quiz is the tumbling pass is Legal in Level 2. The video is a running tumbling pass which allows a handspring series. The back extension roll does not change the pass into a standing tumbling pass.

Quiz – L2 Tumbling

For this week’s quiz we’re looking at Level 2 tumbling. The quiz will be open until Friday.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

The correct answer to the L2 Tumbling quiz is the skill is Legal in Level 2. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 2 – 278 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 2 – 233 Votes

The explanation is available here.

This ruling and explanation are based on the 2016-17 version of the rules dated August 31, 2016.

Clarification – L2 Jumps & Tumbling

The correct answer to the L2 Jumps & Tumbling quiz is the sequence is Legal in Level 2. Although “Jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed” per Standing Tumbling C, a T-Jump is not a jump skill, emphasis on skill, and therefore breaks up the tumbling pass per General Tumbling E.

Quiz – L2 Jumps & Tumbling

This week’s quiz takes us to Level 2. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is Legal in Level 2. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 2 – 274 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 2 – 73 Votes

The explanation is available here.

Clarification – Tuck & Roll

The correct answer to the Tuck & Roll quiz is Illegal in Level 3. Although a forward or backward roll is allowed after a tuck in Level 3 Running Tumbling, the exception does not include Back Extension Rolls.

Quiz – Tuck & Roll

This week we’re heading to Level 3. The quiz will be open until Friday. Be sure to check out the last quiz updated with the answer and results.

This quiz has closed. See below for the answer and results.

Answers & Results

The correct answer is the skill is Illegal in Level 3. The poll results were:

  • Legal in Level 3 – 141 Votes
  • Illegal in Level 3 – 115 Votes

The explanations are available here.

Clarification – 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Handspring

This clarification is a follow up to one of our earlier quizzes about 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Handsprings. Most voters were correct in stating this is legal starting in Level 2. To get to this answer you’ll need to know a standing back handspring is legal in Level 2 and look at a couple glossary definitions.

I believe most people calling this combination illegal in Level 2 would point to Standing Tumbling C:

Jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed.

To determine if this rule applies we need to determine if a 1/4 turn T-Jump is a “Jump Skill”. The definition of Jump Skill is:

A skill which involves a change in body position during a jump. i.e. toe touch, pike, etc…

That definition addresses the T-Jump part, but not the 1/4 turn part. The 1/4 turn part is addressed in the definition of “Jump Turn”, which states:

Any turn that is added to a jump. A “straight jump” with a turn does not make the jump a “jump skill”.

This definition clearly states the turn alone does not make it a Jump Skill, making it so Standing Tumbling C doesn’t apply, leading to the skill being legal. A similar process would lead to a 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Tuck being legal in Level 4.

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Quiz – 1/4 Turn T-Jump Back Handspring

This week’s quiz is about T-Jumps connected to Back Handsprings. The quiz will be open through Friday. Be sure to check out last week’s quiz update with the answer and results.

This quiz closed on September 26th. See below for the answer and results.

Answer & Results

The correct answer for this week’s quiz is Level 2. The poll results were:

  • Level 1 – 4 Votes
  • Level 2 – 129 Votes
  • Level 3 – 31 Votes
  • Level 4 – 4 Votes
  • Level Y5 – 0 Votes
  • Level R5 – 0 Votes
  • Level 5 – 3 Votes
  • Level 6 – 0 Votes
  • Not Legal at Any Level – 1 Vote

Note – The information in this article is based on the August 27, 2015 release of the rules.

Jump Skills to Tumbling

In Level 2, jump skills in immediate combination with handspring(s) are not allowed and in Level 4 jump skills are not allowed in immediate combination with a standing flip. Non skilled jumps, such as a T-Jump, in combination with a tumbling skill do not break this rule, making the triple toe touch, t-jump, back handspring in the video legal in Level 2 and replacing the back handspring with a back tuck legal in Level 4. If you aren’t sure whether or not a jump would be considered a skilled jump, don’t do it.

Over/Under Rules

The moving over, under, or through a stunt, pyramid, individual, or prop rules, collectively referred to as the “Over/Under” rules, are only applicable when passing over or under a torso. They do not apply to only passing over arms or legs. This means you can punch front over a leg without violating this rule. The tumbling restrictions regarding Over/Under are the same for all levels, including Level 6, stating:

Tumbling over, under, or through a stunt, individual, or prop, is not allowed.

The stunt and pyramid restrictions differ by level, and don’t exist for Level 5.

No stunt, pyramid, or individual may move over or under another separate stunt, pyramid or individual. – Levels 1-3

No stunt or pyramid may move over or under another separate stunt or pyramid. – Level 4

Levels 1-3 can’t move Over/Under anything separate, but Level 4 can move Over/Under a separate individual. Please note use of the word “Separate” in the rules above because that is what makes some skills, leap frogs being an example, possible. A leap frog stunt passes over a torso, but since the top person is connected to the person they pass over, it’s not a separate stunt or individual so the rule doesn’t apply. The same concept applies to leap frog pyramids in higher levels.